Cargill Cares Alumni

CCA Events - Get Involved   


  • Click on events below to see what CCA already has scheduled.     
  • Log in to register for selected events.
  • See also - link to Cargill Corporate Responsibility (Cargill Foundation) events in which you can participate.

Please note: Although both Cargill and the CCA Board have authorization to start coordinating some CCA group volunteer activities effective September 1, 2020, it remains your personal decision whether or not to participate in any group activity. It is important for each of you to consider your personal situations and prioritize the health of yourself and those around you when making a decision whether or not to participate. Individuals at high risk for serious COVID-19 infections  or who are in contact with high risk individuals, may choose not to participate. High risk individuals are defined by CDC @ https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/index.html and by the Minnesota Dept of Health @ Minnesota Order defining high risk individuals

Event calendar

    • 12/07/2021
    • 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    • 7101 Winnetka, Brooklyn Park 55428

    Sort, re-label and package donated commodities.

    Contact: Julie Rothstein: juliefoss@msn.com

    Project Description at: Second Harvest



    To sign up for the CCA shift on Dec 7th from 9-11 AM, click here.



    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you haven't signed up on the new “Volunteer Central at Second Harvest Heartland” system yet, you need to first click on the following link: https://volunteer.2harvest.org/user/login/?return=activationYou will then be prompted to create an account, create a password, and sign a waiver.


    • 12/15/2021
    • 12:30 PM - 2:30 PM
    • 7101 Winnetka, Brooklyn Park 55428

    Sort, re-label and package donated commodities.

    Contact: Julie Rothstein: juliefoss@msn.com

    Project Description at: Second Harvest



    To sign up for the CCA shift on Dec 15th from 12:30-2:30 PM, click here.



    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you haven't signed up on the new “Volunteer Central at Second Harvest Heartland” system yet, you need to first click on the following link: https://volunteer.2harvest.org/user/login/?return=activationYou will then be prompted to create an account, create a password, and sign a waiver.


    • 01/19/2022
    • 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
    • Virtual via Zoom
    Register

    Our book for Wednesday, January 19th is The Book Women of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson


    A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
    A USA TODAY BESTSELLER
    A LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER
    A PBS BOOK PICK

    The bestselling historical fiction from Kim Michele Richardson, this is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of Lee Smith and Lisa Wingate. The perfect addition to your next book club!

    The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything—everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt's Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome's got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.

    Cussy's not only a book woman, however, she's also the last of her kind, her skin a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy's family or the Library Project, and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she's going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachias and suspicion as deep as the holler.

    Inspired by the true blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave and dedicated Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere—even back home.

    "This gem of a historical from Richardson features an indomitable heroine navigating a community steeped in racial intolerance...Readers will adore the memorable Cussy and appreciate Richardson's fine rendering of rural Kentucky life."—Publishers Weekly


    • 02/16/2022
    • 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
    • Virtual via Zoom
    Register

    Our book for Wednesday, February 16 is The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah.  

    From the number-one bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Great Alone comes a powerful American epic about love and heroism and hope, set during the Great Depression, a time when the country was in crisis and at war with itself, when millions were out of work and even the land seemed to have turned against them.

    My land tells its story if you listen. The story of our family.”

    Texas, 1921. A time of abundance. The Great War is over, the bounty of the land is plentiful, and America is on the brink of a new and optimistic era. But for Elsa Wolcott, deemed too old to marry in a time when marriage is a woman’s only option, the future seems bleak. Until the night she meets Rafe Martinelli and decides to change the direction of her life. With her reputation in ruin, there is only one respectable choice: marriage to a man she barely knows.

    By 1934, the world has changed; millions are out of work and drought has devastated the Great Plains. Farmers are fighting to keep their land and their livelihoods as crops fail and water dries up and the earth cracks open. Dust storms roll relentlessly across the plains. Everything on the Martinelli farm is dying, including Elsa’s tenuous marriage; each day is a desperate battle against nature and a fight to keep her children alive.

    In this uncertain and perilous time, Elsa―like so many of her neighbors―must make an agonizing choice: fight for the land she loves or leave it behind and go west, to California, in search of a better life for her family.

    The Four Winds is a rich, sweeping novel that stunningly brings to life the Great Depression and the people who lived through it―the harsh realities that divided us as a nation and the enduring battle between the haves and the have-nots. A testament to hope, resilience, and the strength of the human spirit to survive adversity, The Four Winds is an indelible portrait of America and the American dream, as seen through the eyes of one indomitable woman whose courage and sacrifice will come to define a generation.

    • 03/16/2022
    • 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
    • Virtual via Zoom
    Register

    Our book discussion for Wednesday, March 16 will be on Ruth Bader Ginsburg. 

    Participants can pick a book about Ruth Bader Ginsburg of their own choosing. This will enable the group to get different perspectives of this popular culture icon.  

    • 04/20/2022
    • 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
    • Virtual via Zoom
    Register

    Our book discussion for Wednesday, April 20 will be An Unsuitable Job for a Woman by P.D. James.

    An Unsuitable Job for a Woman introduces bestselling mystery author P.D. James’s courageous but vulnerable young detective, Cordelia Gray, in a “top-rated puzzle of peril that holds you all the way” (The New York Times).

    Handsome Cambridge dropout Mark Callender died hanging by the neck with a faint trace of lipstick on his mouth. When the official verdict is suicide, his wealthy father hires fledgling private investigator Cordelia Gray to find out what led him to self-destruction. What she discovers instead is a twisting trail of secrets and sins, and the strong scent of murder.


    • 06/15/2022
    • 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
    • Chanhassen Dinner Theater

    Chanhassen Dinner – “Footloose” 


    Registration is not yet available.

    Stay tuned for CCA emails that will notify you when registration opens.

    Call or text Ceal at 612-309-5164 or email at ceal2987@gmail.com with questions


Past events

11/24/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
11/17/2021 CCA Book Discussion - The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes
11/16/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
11/15/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Project Success
11/09/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
11/03/2021 The Food Group
11/02/2021 Feed My Starving Children
10/27/2021 The Music Man at Chanhassen
10/27/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
10/20/2021 CCA Book Discussion - All the light you can not see by Anthony Doerr
10/19/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
10/15/2021 363 Sandwich Project
10/12/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
10/11/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Perspectives
10/06/2021 Understanding Medicare
10/06/2021 The Food Group
09/21/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Hiawatha Academies
09/21/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
09/15/2021 CCA Book Discussion - Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
09/14/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
09/09/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - BestPrep
09/09/2021 Hope Academy
09/02/2021 CCA Golf
09/01/2021 The Food Group
08/31/2021 ST. Croix River Cruise
08/28/2021 Cargill Event - Little Farm Hands
08/27/2021 Cargill Event - Cycle Health - Triathlon for Kids
08/25/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
08/23/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Youth Farm
08/20/2021 363 Sandwich Project
08/18/2021 CCA Book Discussion - A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
08/17/2021 Saints Baseball - Saints vs. Iowa
08/12/2021 Action Day - Pack Student Backpacks
08/10/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
08/04/2021 The Food Group
07/28/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
07/26/2021 Twins Baseball -Twins vs. Detroit Tigers
07/21/2021 CCA Book Discussion Group The Keeper of Lost Things
07/15/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Breakthrough Twin Cities
07/13/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
07/12/2021 Feed My Starving Children
07/07/2021 The Food Group
06/23/2021 Second Harvest Heartland
06/16/2021 CCA Book Discussion Group - The Deep Deep Snow
06/14/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Appetite for Change
06/11/2021 Hope Academy
06/07/2021 Feed My Starving Children
06/02/2021 The Food Group
05/19/2021 CCA Book Discussion Group - The Secrets We Kept
05/10/2021 Feed My Starving Children
05/05/2021 The Food Group
04/21/2021 CCA Book Discussion Group - "Gone to Dust"
04/12/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Big Brothers Big Sisters Twin Cities
04/07/2021 CCA We Talk About ...
03/30/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - CARE - part of the International Women’s Day series
03/24/2021 CCA We Talk About ...
03/22/2021 Corp. Responsibility - Virtual Coffee Chat - Pillsbury United Communities
02/15/2021 CCA - The Constellation Fund Virtual Chat
11/16/2020 Healthcare Options for 2021 with Via Benefits
04/17/2020 Cargill Alumni 363 Sandwich Event -canceled
03/18/2020 Music Man - Oct 27, 2021; rescheduled from 3/18/20
02/20/2020 Feed My Starving Children - NW Metro Mobile Pack
12/04/2019 The Food Group
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
G-0Y40DKDY99